Ashtanga Primary Series Complete!

I finally got the final pose of the Ashtanga Primary Series! 🙂

I’m now on my 33rd class, 7th week into the practice.

Waking up in the morning has been a lot easier these days. I mostly go in the mornings but I usually practice in the evening on the Wednesday. It’s the day I allow myself to come in a bit more “prepared” for the practice. It’s also not crowded in the evenings.

Setu Bandhasana

setu

This is not an easy version of the bridge pose. You obviously need to have strong neck and back to get into the full posture.

Normally I would use my hands to lift into my backbend before crossing my arms for the full pose. But it was not allowed, unless there is back pain. Although I couldn’t get into a deeper backbend this way, I was surprised to actually get into the pose on my first try.

That’s probably from all the backbendings. Which by the way has improved quite a lot since I started.

11939620_431175200398911_302169871_n

This was my deepest backbend before I started the Mysore classes. But I’ve been working on bringing the backbend higher to my mid-back. I’ll post my new upward wheel in another post.

My hard work has paid off! I hope to start the secondary series hopefully early next year! 🙂

The shala will be closed for the whole month of December due to renovation works. Unfortunately, they couldn’t get the first floor space for a few weeks before the year-end break. But we will have bigger practice space in the new year! ^_^

 

 

Leave a comment