Ashtanga Mysore Challenge Day 15: 3 Poses and A Transformed Practice

I advanced to the next three Konasana poses:

  • Baddha Konasana (Bound Angle),
  • Upavistha Konasana (Seated Wide Angle), and
  • Supta Konasana (Reclined Angle).

Here’s a video of Maria Villella showing the three poses:

Progression

It’s now my 15th day practicing the Ashtanga Primary series in Mysore style. I stepped into the shala with only the expectation of progression. I did not however think my practice will also be drastically transformed.

I’ve progressed quite enormously in the Marichi C and D (with the slight exception of D on the right side) where at times I would be able to bind and manage to maintain up to 4 full breaths before my arm pops out. My dear towels are there to the rescue. And I’d most probably be left out of the counting if I join the monthly led class. ^_^

I’m also slowly finding the movement and length in Supta Kurmasana. Even though I still need assitance to bind, being able to grip my fingers together for the full five breaths has been a great feat. Not to mention I no longer feel the anxiety being in this pose especially when they attempt to bring my feet together.

Each practice has brought me from not being able to keep both arms at my back at the same time to being able to bring my hands just a few more inches apart to grab on my own. I’ve learned to create the space and find the action to bring my arms under and around my legs. I’m still not there yet, but I surely will one day.

I no longer dread sliding my arms through my lotus legs in Garbha Pindasana. I’ve learned to accept the occasional pain of my forearm pressed against my calf. I’ve learned to be calm when it happens. And that it’s okay to try again.

It still takes me a few rolls more to go around 360 degrees, and occasionally falling on the side halfway through. But I learned how to get back up on my own, create the momentum and resume the roll. And finally balance in Kukkutasana with a bit more ease each time.

Transformation

James saw that I was putting unnecessary effort in my postures and transitions. I thought I was doing what I thought was expected of me since YTT. In a way, I’m glad I made this mistake.

I thought I was channeling energy. On the contrary, I was wasting it. That’s why I felt tired, mentally tired, halfway through the series. Sometimes I want to just skip the rest of the postures and start the finishing sequence. Thankfully I never gave in.

Now my practice has become more simple. And It has become a practice of patience. Continuously understanding how my body moves and responds to each breath, in each pose. Observing the sensations without reacting to them. It has given me the understanding in taking the first small steps to the lifelong journey of mind and body unification. Slowly integrating conscious awareness in my practice.

I’m finally starting to understand what practice should mean and should be. One’s own.

Leave a comment